What Trump’s (Latest) Executive Order Means for Immigration

What Trump’s (Latest) Executive Order Means for Immigration

Immigration updates


immigration updates

After the last one one was shot down in court, President Trump has issued yet another Executive Order this week regarding immigration. Six countries are affected by the latest order, including Iran, Somalia, Libya, Yemen, Sudan, and Syria. It states that individuals from these countries that do not currently have a valid visa are not eligible to travel to the U.S. for a period of 90 days.

It is important to note that the Executive Order does not apply to green card holders, dual nationals, any visas valid on or before the date of the order, diplomatic visas, and those who have been granted asylum or refugee status before the order goes into effect.

The Executive Order will go into effect on March 16, 2017 pending any further litigation.